home > General Survey > Capital of Summer > Geographic Location
General Survey

Geographic Location
2009-08-09 15:56   



  Sitting from 106°07′ to '107°17east longitude and from 26°11to27°22 north latitude, Guiyang neighbors Wengan, Longli, Huishui, Changshun County of Qiannan Buyi and Miao Minority Autonomous Prefecture to the southeast, Pingba County of Anshunt Municipality and Zhijin County of Bijie Municipality to the west, Qianxi, Jinsha County of Bijie and Zunyi County of Zunyi Municipality in the north. Guiyang covers a total area of 8,034 square kilometers, accounting for 4.56 of the area of Guizhou Province.



  The urban districts of Guiyang (including Yunyan District, Nanming District and Xiaohe District) cover an area of 220.31 square kilometers, accounting for 1.97 of the total. Among them, Yunyan District lies in the north, covering an area of 67.5 square kilometers while Nanming District is in the south, covering an area of 89.68 square kilometers and Xiaohe District the south with an area of 63.13 square kilometers. Suburban districts (including Huangxi District, Wudang District and Baiyun District) have an area of 2194.5 square kilometers, 27.99 of the total. Among them, Huangxi District is located in the southwest of the city proper with an area of 957.6 square kilometers while Wudang District (including Guiyang National High-Tech Industry Development Zone) in the northeast and west, covering an area of 964.9 square kilometers and Baiyun District in the northwest with an area of 272 square kilometers.

   One city and three counties cover a total area of 5625.5 square kilometers, accounting for 70.04 of the total. Qingzhen city is in the west of Guiyang with an area of 1492 square kilometers, 18.58 of the total Xiuwen County lies in the north with an area of 1071 square kilometers, 13.33 of the total; Xifeng County lies in the north with an area of 1036.5 square kilometers, 12.91 of the total; Kaiyang County lies in the northeast with an area of 2026 square kilometers, 25.22of the total.